Adjuster Licensing Information

08 March 2015
Notice Issued to Protect Oklahomans Who Have Earthquake Insurance

Notice Issued to Protect Oklahomans Who Have Earthquake Insurance

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma Insurance Department is taking a proactive step to protect Oklahomans who buy earthquake insurance. Today the Department released a bulletin to property and casualty insurance companies to address important issues surrounding earthquake insurance. 

“We want to make sure everyone is clear on earthquake insurance,” said Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner John D. Doak. “Oklahomans need to know what they are buying. Insurers need to know my expectations regarding the interpretation of polices.  And adjusters need to know how to evaluate an earthquake claim.”
02 March 2015
Legislators Introduce Bill To Change Adjuster Licensing In Florida

Legislators Introduce Bill To Change Adjuster Licensing In Florida

LEGISLATORS INTRODUCE BILL TO CHANGE ADJUSTER LICENSING IN FLORIDA NEW PROPOSED LAW TO REQUIRE ADJUSTERS TO TAKE THE STATE TEST Currently, adjuster candidates who obtain an approved designation are exempt from taking the state licensing test. On February 24, 2015 two bills were introduced into the FL Legislature. 
06 February 2015
Wyoming Adjuster Licensing Information

Wyoming Adjuster Licensing Information

Legal Authority:  

Pursuant to Wyo. Stat. § 26-9-219(c), a Wyoming adjuster’s license is required unless the loss is of an unusual, uncommon or unique nature requiring special expertise or knowledge not readily available among adjusters licensed in this state, or for the adjustment of a series of losses resulting from a catastrophe common to those losses. This form may be used to register emergency adjusters who will be employed by an insurer in the state of Wyoming for a time frame of 90 days. This form is not an application for a permanent adjuster license.
06 February 2015
Alaska Independent Adjuster Licensing Information

Alaska Independent Adjuster Licensing Information

Independent Adjuster
An independent adjuster represents the interests of the insurer.

You need an independent adjuster license to adjust claims on behalf of an insurer that is not your employer.

Reciprocal Nonresident License
You are required to hold an independent adjuster license in your home state to qualify for a reciprocal license.

If your home state does not offer an independent adjuster authority, you will need to pass the Alaska Adjuster exam, and Alaska will be your designated home state.

(the above is from the state's website.

Unlicensed Adjuster Single Loss or Catastrophe

Does Alaska have any special provisions that apply to adjusters who may need to only adjust
a single loss or adjust catastrophe losses?

Yes. A nonresident independent adjuster, who is not Alaska-licensed but who is licensed and in
good standing in his or her home state may act as an adjuster and adjust a single loss in this state
during a calendar year, or may act as an adjuster and adjust losses arising out of a catastrophe
(which is declared by the director) if, within 10 days after the start of the investigation or
adjustment, the nonresident adjuster advises the director in writing of the adjustment (AS
21.27.860(a)).

An unlicensed adjuster is required to comply with the Unfair Claims Trades Practices
Regulations. 

06 February 2015

Alabama Independent Adjuster Requirements

Definition

An "independent adjuster" is a person who, for compensation as an independent contractor or as an employee of an independent contractor, undertakes on behalf of an insurer to ascertain and determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under a contract of property, casualty, or workers' compensation insurance or to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or damage. Ala. Code § 27-9A-3.
123456789