In an effort to assist victims of the current wildfires throughout the state, Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones is calling on all property insurance companies to implement emergency expedited claims handling procedures and billing grace periods to help residents and businesses begin their recovery more quickly.
A note about the use of the term “Authorized NFIP Adjuster” rather than “Certified NFIP Adjuster”: It is FEMA’s position that certification requires a more formal course of study and the successful passing of a series of examinations before certification is awarded, such is the case with Certified Public Accounts. Also, the FCN will now be referred to as the Flood Control Number.
Unlicensed Adjuster Information for Insurers
Wind and Thunderstorm Event – July 12-14, 2015
(Flooding, Hail, Tornadoes, Wind)
States: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin and Possibly Other Areas
Catastrophe Serial No. 88
Companies sending unlicensed adjusters to Kentucky to assist with the claims from the wind and thunderstorm event July 12-14, must complete Form 8307 to register the unlicensed emergency adjusters with the Department of Insurance. The form must be completed and submitted by the insurer, not the individual adjuster or other entity. Form 8307 is submitted electronically through the insurer’s eServices account on our website at http://insurance.ky.gov. Click on the word eServices in the upper right corner to login. Insurers who do not have an eServices account should contact the Department’s Information Systems Help Desk at DOI.ISHelpDesk@ky.gov for assistance.
The Insurance Division wants to ensure that adjusters and insurance companies will be able to respond to the homeowners' needs within a reasonable time. Nonresident adjusters must comply with the following in order to operate in the state without a license pursuant to this statute for up to 30 days from the date of registration: see the attached pdf for additional details
TO: ALL COMPANIES, CORPORATIONS, EXCHANGES, MUTUALS, RECIPROCALS, ASSOCIATIONS, LLOYDS, OR OTHER INSURERS WRITING PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE IN THE STATE OF TEXAS AND TO THEIR REPRESENTATIVES AND AGENTS, AND TO ADJUSTERS, PUBLIC ADJUSTERS, ROOFING CONTRACTORS, AND THE PUBLIC GENERALLY
RE: House Bill 1183
Highlights from the Bill
Deadline for Filing Claim: (1)require an insured to file a claim under the policy not later than the first anniversary of the date on which the damage or loss that is the basis of the claim occurs; The commissioner, on a showing of good cause by a person insured under this chapter, may extend the one-year period described by Subsection (a)(1) for a period not to exceed 90 days.