Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

LarryW

USA
126 Posts

Posted - 04/14/2004 :  23:57:08  Show Profile
Tuckernotis: How much extra are you paying your roofer (in excess of that which the insurance company allowed)for the upgraded shingles?

Larry Wright
Go to Top of Page

Samson

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 04/15/2004 :  02:44:22  Show Profile
Tuckernotis,

I am new to hail on roofs (autos used to be my stock & trade). A roofer told me that some cities require drip edge and others don't. He also told me that the decision to tear off the old edging or not was based on the roof's style. He said total hips MIGHT be able to re-use edging but that gables couldn't.

He gave me some plausible reason although I can't recite it now. I think I still have his card and could find out but I was wondering if anyone else had heard that.

The direct damage rationale I'm hearing on edging and vents seems to fail with tar paper/felt. Most storms I've seen might hurt shingles but don't actually do damage to the tar paper. Been there, seen that, got the tee-shirt to prove it, but it still gets replaced.

Samson
Go to Top of Page

LMLinson

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 04/15/2004 :  06:05:43  Show Profile
Jim, I know of local codes that require ice and water shield from working in Ohio and Virginia but I am unaware of state requirements. In Virginia we did not replace valley metal, flashing or drip unless it was damaged.

Edited by - LMLinson on 04/15/2004 06:10:15
Go to Top of Page

trader

USA
236 Posts

Posted - 04/15/2004 :  10:44:32  Show Profile