Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Fireman4528

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 03/05/2003 :  01:01:30  Show Profile
Hello to everyone,

As you can tell I am new to CADO. I am also fairly new to the adjusting field. I would like to know what kind of Internet access you guys and gals are using. With the increasing number of photos wanted in a file, and with Xactimate just waiting to crash on you, I know speed is a real issue. If anyone has some kind of high-speed connection that travels with you, fill me in. Thanks

KileAnderson

USA
875 Posts

Posted - 03/05/2003 :  01:30:13  Show Profile
Unless you know of some way to get DSL in your hotel room you're either stuck with dial up or you can carry a satelite dish with you.
Go to Top of Page

Newt

USA
657 Posts

Posted - 03/05/2003 :  06:43:29  Show Profile
I would sure like to try the DIRECT WAY system, has anyone tried that yet?
From what I read it looks like a winner, its on the internet full time. That would save a lot of time and agravation, trying to get hooked up. Of course you would need a clear shot at the satelite, a small reel of cable and lots of tie wraps. A surveyers tripod may be handy. On an RV you could have a more permenant hook up. Even the ladder rack on you vehicle would be a good mounting place if you used one. Oh well maybe if I use that system I'll find out.
Go to Top of Page

ChuckDeaton

USA
373 Posts

Posted - 03/05/2003 :  09:38:16  Show Profile
I use 802.11b on a regular basis. Yesterday I accessed a wireless access point in the parking lot of a Texaco service station along I-40 at Lonoke, AR. Sent and received my email.

Dave Hood has the best set up for mobile internet access using 802.11b. And no this does not require a satelite dish.
Go to Top of Page

Fireman4528

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 03/06/2003 :  09:34:21  Show Profile